Diplomatic List
Consular Division
Trade Mission
Cultural Centre
Federal Assembly
State Symbols
Russian Cuisine
Religion in Russia
Mass media
Russian Holidays

Russian science

Russian Science Links:

List of Russian Science Servers www.ras/rumap_list.html
Russian Science
Ministry of Science;
International Academic Publishing Company
Scientific Consulting Centre
International S&T Centre in Russia
National Press Institute
Chernobyl and related sites

Russian Science is famous due to many achievements. It is coordinated by Ministry of Science and Technologies, where strategy and basic priorities of research and development are being formulated.

There are around 4000 organizations in Russia involved in research and development with almost one million personnel. Half of those people are doing scientific research.

Fundamental scientific research is concentrated in Russian Academy of Sciences, which now includes hundreds of institutes specializing in all major scientific disciplines such as mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, astronomy, Earth sciences etc.

The applied science and technology is mainly done in Institutions and Design Bureaus belonging to different Russian Ministers. There are involved in research and development in nuclear energy (Minatom), space exploration (Russian Space Agency), defense (Ministry of defense), telecommunications (Ministry of communications) and so on.

Russian Academy of Sciences

Russian Academy of Sciences is the highest scientific society and principal coordinating body for research in natural and social sciences, technology, and production in Russia. It is composed of outstanding Russian scientists who are elected to the academy, membership is of three types - academicians, corresponding members, and foreign members. The Academy is also involved in post graduate training of students and in publicizing scientific achievements and knowledge. It maintains ties with many international scientific institutions and collaborates as well as with foreign academies. The Academy's divisions are directed by its Presidium with sections such as:

  • physical-technical and mathematical sciences;
  • chemotechnical and biological sciences;
  • earth sciences;
  • social sciences etc.
Founded in St. Petersburg in 1724 by Peter I the Great, the academy was than opened in 1725 by his widow, Catherine I, as the Academy of Sciences and Arts. Later known under various names, it got its present name in 1925. In its early decades, foreign scholars, notably the Swiss mathematicians Leonard Euler and Daniel Bernoulli, worked in the Academy. The first Russian member in the Academy was Mikhail Vasilyevich Lomonosov, scientist and poet, who was elected in 1742 and contributed extensively to many branches of science. The Academy's highest prize, the Lomonosov Medal, bears his name.

Under the tsars, the Academy was headed by members of court circles and controlled a relatively small number of institutions. After 1917 the Academy started to chose its president and expanded the activities as many new scientific institutions arose throughout the Soviet Union. By 1934, when it was transferred from Leningrad (St. Petersburg) to Moscow, it embraced 25 institutes. Before the disintegration of the Soviet Union in 1991, the academy directed more than 260 institutions, including laboratories, naval institutes, observatories, research stations, and scientific societies, and branches were spread throughout the republics of Soviet Union.

Academy was founded in 1724 and celebrated its 275 jubilee this year. Still it is the leading force of the Russian Science inheriting the best traditions of such members of Russian Academy as Dmitri Mendeleev, Mikhilo Lomonosov, Igor Kurchatov, Andrey Sacharov and many others.

For further details please contact:
tel: (01) 492 34 92
fax: (01) 492 35 25





Legal information | Advertisment | News | Design
Copyright © Ikaria Associates